
 

 

New Business Item 13-27 
Introduced 2/21/14 
Approved 2/21/14 

 
TITLE: License, Permit and Renewal Fee Structure  
 
 
 
Effective July 1, 2014 the Hawaii Teacher Standards Board approves the 
following policy for payment of the license and permit fee and renewal fee: 
 

 Initial license fees shall be paid either: 
o in full at issuance in the amount of: 

 $480 for a ten year Advanced License; 
 $240 for a five year Standard License;  
 $48 per year for a Provisional License;  or 

o yearly during the term of the license in the amount of $48 per year; 
 Initial permit fees shall be paid $48 per year during the life of the permit;  
 License and permit renewal fees are due on or before the expiration date 

of the license or permit and  shall be paid: 
o  in full at the same rate as for initial issuance; or  
o yearly in the amount of $48 per year; 

 All fees are payable using the following methods:  
o an eCheck or credit/debit card on the online payment system; or  
o by personal check mailed or delivered to the HTSB office; or 
o cashier’s check or money order; however, since this method 

requires  special entry into the licensing system additional time is 
required for posting and viewing of the payment; 

 All methods of payment incur an administrative fee charged by Hawaii 
Information Consortium (HIC), the licensing system vendor, in the 
following amounts: 

o $5.99 shall be added to the yearly payment of $48 for a total of 
$53.99; 

o $29.94 shall be added to the five year payment of $240 for a total of 
269.94; 

o $59.98 shall be added to the ten year payment of $480 for a total of 
$539.98; 

o The HTSB does not retain any portion of the administrative fee; 
 Between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015 the Board shall pay the 

administrative fee charged by HIC for payments made on or before the 
due date for initial and renewal fees made utilizing the online payment 
system; 

 Licensees and permittees not utilizing the online payment system shall be 
responsible for payment of the administrative fee; 

 All fees are non-refundable. 
 A $25 late fee shall be assessed for fees not paid by the due date. 



 

 

 The HTSB shall protect the active status of licenses and permits when fee 
payments are made by special arrangement as a result of a collective 
bargaining agreement. 

 
The Board shall review this policy on a yearly to determine the feasibility of 
paying the administrative fee and offering a discount. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Submitted by:   Terry Lynn Holck 
 
Referred to:  Joint Legislative and By-Laws and Budget, Personnel and 

Strategic Planning Committees 
 
 
 
 
 


