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TITLE:  Assessment of Fine for Teaching in Hawaii Public Schools without an Active 

License 
 
 
 
Hawaii Department of Education and Charter School teachers are required to hold a 
valid license. Hawaii Revised Statutes §302A-808 provides a penalty for individuals 
teaching in Hawaii public school without a valid license as well as their employers: 
 
§302A-808  Penalty.  Any person who engages in the profession of teaching in a public 
school without first being issued a license or hired on an emergency basis as defined in 
this chapter shall be fined not more than $500.  Any person who knowingly or 
intentionally violates this subpart by employing an individual as a public school teacher 
who does not possess a valid license or is not a department of education emergency 
hire as defined in this chapter may be fined not more than $500.  All fines shall be 
deposited into the Hawaii teacher standards board special fund. [L 1996, c 89, pt of §2; 
am L 2001, c 312, pt of §10; am L 2003, c 3, §13] 
 
The Hawaii Teacher Standards Board approves the following regarding collection of 
fines for teaching in Hawaii public schools without an active license: 
 
 Effective March 1, 2013, any teacher, school librarian or school counselor holding an 

expired license and practicing the profession of teaching in a Hawaii Department of 
Education or Charter School will be assessed a fine of $500; 

 These licensees must pay the fine prior to renewal of their license; 
 Effective March 1, 2013, an employer of any teacher, school librarian or school 

counselor holding an expired license and practicing the profession of teaching in a 
Hawaii Department of Education or Charter School will be assessed a fine of $500 
for each violation; 

 Effective March 1, 2013, any teacher, school librarian or school counselor holding a 
forfeited license and practicing the profession of teaching in a Hawaii Department of 
Education or Charter School will be assessed a fine of $500; 

 Individuals holding a forfeited license must pay the fine, any late fee and the license 
fee due prior to restoration of their license; 

 Effective March 1, 2013, an employer of any teacher, school librarian or school 
counselor holding a forfeited license and practicing the profession of teaching in a 
Hawaii Department of Education or Charter School will be assessed a fine of $500 
for each violation. 
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